Managing User Accounts

Before a user can access the HPE Network Virtualization components, an account must be created for the user.

Note: A user must be assigned to the Server Administrators user group to be permitted to manage user accounts. For details, see Managing User Groups.

Use the User Accounts tab in the NV Server to manage user accounts.

Create a new user account

In the User Accounts tab, click New User, and enter the user's details. While filling in the various fields, make sure to:

  • Enter a user login name. The user will use this name to log in to all HPE Network Virtualization components.

    • The login name must be between 6 and 30 characters long, and contain only alphabetic characters (A-Za-z), numbers (0-9), the underscore (_), and hyphen (-).

    • The login name is case sensitive.
  • Select the user groups of which the user will be a member. For details, see Managing User Groups.
  • Enter a password. The user will use this password to log in to all HPE Network Virtualization components.

    • The password must be between 6 and 30 characters long, and contain only alphabetic characters (A-Za-z), numbers (0-9), the underscore (_), and hyphen (-).

    • Passwords are case sensitive.

    The user can change the password after logging in.

Back to top

List all user accounts and logged-on users

In the NV Server, click the User Accounts tab. A list of all user accounts is displayed.

A green circle to the left of a username indicates that the user is currently logged on to one or more of the HPE Network Virtualization components.

Back to top

Change a user's password

  1. In the User Accounts tab, select the user and then click Edit.
  2. Select Reset Password, and then enter a new password for the user.

Back to top

Edit the details of a user account

In the User Accounts tab, select the user account that you want to edit, click Edit, and then modify the user's details as required.

Note: You cannot change the user group of the administrator that was created when the NV Server was installed.

Back to top

Delete a user account

In the User Accounts tab, select one or more user accounts that you want to delete, and then click Delete.

Note: You cannot delete the administrator that was created when the NV Server was installed.

Back to top